White Balance question

Discussions on Lighting

White Balance question

Postby sharry » Fri Jul 23, 2010 11:39 pm

Hello Mr. Deakins and everybody else... I'm new to this forum and Im so glad that I am with people who are so talented and into their work... I love cinematography and Im working on a short film which I am directing as well as I am the director of photography. I am not operating the camera. It is my thesis project (I'm a film student).

I had a question. Now I have worked on the 35mm and understand the fact that the reel that you get is white balanced. 250D means it is balanced for daylight or 5600K. Likewise 250T is balanced for tungsten lught or 3200K. Now I am working on the video format in which you get these two presets along with a manual control which you use with a white card. Now I read an article which says that you should not white balance your footage in video. It says you should shoot on the 5600K preset and balance it in post. Now its hard for me to understand it because the day I held my first camera I was told to have a perfect white balance. For 4 years I have perfectly white balanced my footage. Well now I am confused. Here is the link to the article:

http://frankglencairn.wordpress.com/201 ... -bad-idea/

What do you guys have to say about this? Should I shoot my film on the 5600K preset and balance it in post because I am going to color grade my footage myself after my editor has edited the film. Please help me out?
-Shaheryar Ahmed-
sharry

Re: White Balance question

Postby Fat Duke » Tue Jul 27, 2010 4:47 am

Simple. Test it yourself. See the results and decide.

But to be honest, these kind of tests reveal very little in order to have any weight in technical/aesthetic decisions. If your sharp and trained eye can't tell the difference without having to put the footage through all sorts of tests, then its all a bit useless... if it looks good on the monitor/TV/LCD then you should be fine.
Nuno Dias. London. UK.
Fat Duke